Vale

Roamin´ Europa

When in Amsterdam. February 9, 2009

This past weekend I traveled to the city of Amsterdam. We stayed there from Thursday night to Sunday morning, which was definitely enough time. During the day on Friday and Saturday we explored the city. We amsterdam62roamed around different coffee shops, ate a lot of food and went to some museums. One that sticks out in my mind is the Van Gogh museum. The artwork was beautiful and ancient which definitely caught my attention. Friday night we ventured to the Red Light District, which is unlike anything I have ever seen before. Although Amsterdam shouldn’t be directly associated with the Red Light District, it definitely somewhat represents what kind of city Amsterdam is and what it stands for. I really enjoyed this city because there was always so much going on. Young people were always crowded in the streets and there was just a lot of positive energy. The weather was very cold, which was a bit of a damper, but hopefully I’ll make my way back when it is warmer out. I found the food to be very good, and a nice break from the food in Barcelona. Friday and Saturday morning I ate a great omelet from a restaurant called Barney´s, which will definitely remain as one of my favorite places to go in Amsterdam. I was very surprised by the attitude that the locals had towards Americans. I was not expecting it at all, but I got the feeling that they do not like us very much. Every time we sat down in a restaurant, we were the last to be served for example. Overall, there was a very negative aura every time we asked for something in a restaurant or coffee shop. These instances were unfortunate and unexpected, but my friends and I did not let this ruin our trip. By the time Sunday came around, I was ready to head back to Barcelona. I didn’t want to part with the spirit of Amsterdam, but I have the feeling I will definitely be back again.

 

Leave a Reply

