Vale

Roamin´ Europa

When in Switzerland. February 2, 2009

interlaken-large1

Throughout my stay in Barcelona, I will be traveling to a different place almost every weekend. Last weekend was my first trip and I went to Interlaken, Switzerland. My friends and I took a flight from Barcelona to Geneva, and then took two trains to Interlaken. It was a long and full day of traveling but it was definitely worth it. We met a boy named Mario on the train ride from Geneva, who said he would show us the way to our hostel, which was only a 15 minute walk from the station. The hostel was called Balmers and it reminded me very much of sleep-away camp. It was crowded with boys and girls all staying the weekend in Interlaken. Every night we were there we went downstairs to a bar that was in the hostel, which is supposedly one of the most popular spots in Interlaken. The next day was saturday and we were supposed to go skydiving, but the skies were too foggy, so we just walked around the town and tried to absorb the culture as much as we could. That night we went night sledding, which was truly amazing. They took about 70 of us in a gondala above the clouds, and taught us how to sled the entire way down a huge mountain. The highlight of my trip was definitely sunday morning. Finally, the skies cleared and my friends and I got to go skydiving. I jumped 14,000 feet out of a helicopter, and it was one of the most amazing and scariest things I’ve ever done in my entire life.  After skydiving we had to rush to the airport to catch our flight, which ended up being delayed for four hours due to snow. It was a short weekend with a lot of traveling, but it was one that I most definitely will never forget.

 

2 Responses to “When in Switzerland.”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. […] 5, 2009 Here are some new blog articles about Interlaken: 1) Switzerland, Sky Diving and Night Sledding and Balmers, 2th February 2009 2) SWITZERLAND, Sky Diving, Night Sledding, Sky Rentals, 3th February 2009 3) A Sweet, Swiss […]


Leave a Reply

